3 Replies - 1091 Views - Last Post: 09 July 2012 - 01:22 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Text based browser game

Posted 08 July 2012 - 10:54 PM

Hi all,

Many years ago I ran a football management game by paper with a bunch of mates at school, very simple stuff, and I'd like to bring it to (automated) life via the internet.

My question is hopefully simple!

All I'm really looking for at the moment is a quick explanation of the programs I may need to achieve this.

Now, I will be keeping this game very small scale, amongst only people I know, so security is not the biggest cause for concern. What I would like to do is use my home PC to host, and run the game.

I have basic knowledge of php, html, etc - and I'll sort all that out no worries - I jsut don't know if what I want can be done easily.

So, if you could be so kind, could anybody suggest software required to perform all of this on my home PC, and if you have a spare moment, maybe a quick overview on how and when they should talk to each other. Just a very basic idea is all I need to send me on my way :)

Thanks in advance,

Allan.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Text based browser game

#2 no2pencil  Icon User is online

• Toubabo Koomi
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Text based browser game

Posted 08 July 2012 - 11:20 PM

View Postalfro84, on 09 July 2012 - 01:54 AM, said:

Now, I will be keeping this game very small scale, amongst only people I know, so security is not the biggest cause for concern.

Doesn't matter. Bots will find hosted software like this, & will check it for security holes. If you value your time you are putting into making the game, I would recommend you change your thoughts on security.

View Postalfro84, on 09 July 2012 - 01:54 AM, said:

What I would like to do is use my home PC to host, and run the game.

You would need to install a webserver such as Apache or IIS.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 Dormilich  Icon User is online