Swapped CPUs and now computer gets bouts of heavy lag

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2

16 Replies - 1383 Views - Last Post: 16 July 2012 - 04:12 PM

#1 Angate  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 2
  • View blog
  • Posts: 28
  • Joined: 05-March 09

Swapped CPUs and now computer gets bouts of heavy lag

Posted 09 July 2012 - 02:08 PM

I swaped my old AM2 Athlon X2 5400+ for a 6000+ and now my computer goes through bouts of freezing up. Some stuff goes through "Not Responding" but it's the whole computer. Task manager and process explorer haven't been much help. I have deleted and auto re-installed the cpu through the device manager. any suggestions as to what might be up?

EDIT: Also worth noting, Windows 7 Pro.

This post has been edited by Angate: 09 July 2012 - 02:10 PM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Swapped CPUs and now computer gets bouts of heavy lag

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9278
  • View blog
  • Posts: 34,789
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Swapped CPUs and now computer gets bouts of heavy lag

Posted 09 July 2012 - 02:09 PM

What's the temps? You did apply thermal paste to the new cpu right?

What's the motherboard make and model?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 Angate  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 2
  • View blog
  • Posts: 28
  • Joined: 05-March 09

Re: Swapped CPUs and now computer gets bouts of heavy lag

Posted 09 July 2012 - 02:32 PM

Haha yeah I did apply thermal paste, bios shows the temp at 37c. Not sure what to use to see the temps in wondows. The mobo is an Asus M3A78-EMH HDMI ASUS Site
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9278
  • View blog
  • Posts: 34,789
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Swapped CPUs and now computer gets bouts of heavy lag

Posted 09 July 2012 - 02:56 PM

... and you made your sure *SPECIFIC* bios and cpu model numbers match up?

http://support.asus....-EMH%20HDMI&p=1

Any errors in the event viewer?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 Angate  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 2
  • View blog
  • Posts: 28
  • Joined: 05-March 09

Re: Swapped CPUs and now computer gets bouts of heavy lag

Posted 09 July 2012 - 03:31 PM

I have the newest BIOS, 1302. The only events in the event viewer of note are TONS of these.

0000000331: 2012-07-09 17:53:05:309 Exception: Object reference not set to an instance of an object. Exception Called by: ATI.ACE.CLI.Component.Runtime.Runtime::Invoke processID:03756 threadID:( ) domainName:(CCC.exe ) assemblyName:(CLI.Component.Runtime, Version=3.5.4451.976, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=90ba9c70f846762e)

Looks like Catalyst Control Center is doing something screwy, but I kinda doubt that is what is going on, but it may be.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9278
  • View blog
  • Posts: 34,789
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Swapped CPUs and now computer gets bouts of heavy lag

Posted 09 July 2012 - 05:20 PM

Then that begs the question - have you completely uninstalled your catalyst drivers, rebooted, and tried to reinstall them again?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 Angate  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 2
  • View blog
  • Posts: 28
  • Joined: 05-March 09

Re: Swapped CPUs and now computer gets bouts of heavy lag

Posted 09 July 2012 - 05:20 PM

That is in line after I get this backup I am performing completed. Will report back. Thank you for your time and advice.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 Angate  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 2
  • View blog
  • Posts: 28
  • Joined: 05-March 09

Re: Swapped CPUs and now computer gets bouts of heavy lag

Posted 09 July 2012 - 07:54 PM

OK, Removed and re-installed and same issue. Any other suggestions?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9278
  • View blog
  • Posts: 34,789
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Swapped CPUs and now computer gets bouts of heavy lag

Posted 10 July 2012 - 07:12 AM

When are these freezes occurring?

It might do you well to download 'motherboard monitor' and let it run in the background as you would go about your normal tasks.

What's the inside of your box look like? Crap all crammed in there?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#10 Angate  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 2
  • View blog
  • Posts: 28
  • Joined: 05-March 09

Re: Swapped CPUs and now computer gets bouts of heavy lag

Posted 10 July 2012 - 08:51 AM

I notice it most when playing games (World of Tanks), but have also experienced it while doing drive backups and browsing the internet. The case got a thorough cleaning when I did the cpu swap, and there is plenty of open space and fans. I ran a temp monitor program and it came back (after hours of disk backup, 100% load) with temps at 38c. Mother Board Monitor does not support my board.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#11 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9278
  • View blog
  • Posts: 34,789
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Swapped CPUs and now computer gets bouts of heavy lag

Posted 10 July 2012 - 09:02 AM

Well you can address the issue straight up and in the msconfig -> startup and uncheck the ATI control center app.. the (CCC.EXE).. save it .. reboot.. and see how it goes..

Another long shot - in the bios:

Microcode unification: Disable
Cool'n Quiet: Enable
Plug'n Play OS: Enable
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#12 Angate  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 2
  • View blog
  • Posts: 28
  • Joined: 05-March 09

Re: Swapped CPUs and now computer gets bouts of heavy lag

Posted 10 July 2012 - 12:53 PM

The bios had all of those things opposite of what you say. changed them. Uninstalled all ATI programs from the computer and let windows use the default driver from ATI. Problem seems to persist so I used MSCONFIG to do a diagnostic startup, leaving system services running and the problem seems to be resolved. Doing more load testing and will bring stuff back in to isolate the problem.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#13 Angate  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 2
  • View blog
  • Posts: 28
  • Joined: 05-March 09

Re: Swapped CPUs and now computer gets bouts of heavy lag

Posted 14 July 2012 - 10:10 AM

The issue seems to be happening less frequently, but it is still happening. I'm a bit stuck.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#14 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9278
  • View blog
  • Posts: 34,789
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Swapped CPUs and now computer gets bouts of heavy lag

Posted 14 July 2012 - 10:13 AM

Without being there to see what is happening it will be difficult to fix what ever this is.. I say find a local computer repair shop that has some cred and have them take a whack at it.

What's the specific CPU info and model number?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#15 Angate  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 2
  • View blog
  • Posts: 28
  • Joined: 05-March 09

Re: Swapped CPUs and now computer gets bouts of heavy lag

Posted 15 July 2012 - 01:30 PM

The CPU is a JH-F3 revision. Not sure about any more info on it without removing it from the system again. I wonder if re-installing my os would help. I can always image my drive as is and restore if it doesn't work out.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2