• (2 Pages)
  • +

28 Replies - 2354 Views - Last Post: 15 July 2012 - 10:31 PM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Regular
  • member icon

• View blog

Please explain the scope resolution operator (::) & headers

Posted 09 July 2012 - 04:18 PM

I'm very new to C++, and I haven't really done any work that requires multiple files. I understand that the scope resolution operator specifies the namespace or class to which a function or member belongs, but coming from Java, I don't see why anyone would ever want to declare a function then code its functionality. It also seems very non-object oriented to me because it seems like it screws up encapsulation and stuff. Someone can just choose what a class's member functions do by saying "Class::function() { do something }" outside of the class. In other words, I don't see what stops someone from making multiple definitions for methods. And that leads me to wonder: are headers just completely redundant? Since they're not classes but merely skeletons of declarations, don't you have to copy the functionality of methods to each C++ file in which you include a header? I obviously don't understand headers and I'm hoping that all of my assumptions are wrong, but honestly - would it really be that hard to allow programmers to include regular C++ files that may or may not have classes in them for other code to use? I'm sure this is possible, but that makes headers one of the most useless files ever conceived.

I really appreciate your attempts to clear this up for me. Thanks!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Please explain the scope resolution operator (::) & headers

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Please explain the scope resolution operator (::) & headers

Posted 09 July 2012 - 04:55 PM

I don't see why anyone would ever want to declare a function then code its functionality.
Is the following syntactically correct? How do you know?

int addFour(int a, int b, int c, int d)
{