5 Replies - 1564 Views - Last Post: 10 July 2012 - 11:24 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

First iPad app, advice on logic/possibilities?

Posted 10 July 2012 - 08:16 AM

My boss has decided he wants to have an iPad app developed and came in yesterday and more or less threw a bunch of ideas and thoughts at me about it. I have no experience in app development, so it seems like a very big undertaking and I'm not sure if the ideas he has are plausible. Basically what he wants is an app which incorporates data from various books we've published. The relevant data, most of it, is already in a database.

My main point of confusion is that he wants to be able to add data from different books as time goes on. He wants the user to be able to choose and pay for the additional books if they want/need them. So basically, the user purchases the app which comes default with data from 3 books, but we'll have additional options they can purchase. Logically speaking, how should this be setup? How would you keep the data the user hasn't purchased or chosen restricted/inaccessible? And how would you add extra data from other sources? Would a new application be required to incorporate the new data with the old data in a useable way?

This is all a little overwhelming, and my severe lack of experience shows(There's probably features available to handle this easily). Thank you for any advice/possible solutions, it would be great if there were some pseudo code or diagram showing a possible solution!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: First iPad app, advice on logic/possibilities?

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: First iPad app, advice on logic/possibilities?

Posted 10 July 2012 - 08:37 AM

Okay - if you don't do application development what exactly do you do? Web design?