6 Replies - 1300 Views - Last Post: 15 July 2012 - 09:13 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

advice needed

Posted 13 July 2012 - 02:20 AM

hi all,

its my first time looking for a server so I dont really know what to look for and what are advantages/disadvantages?

I want it safe so one one upload some shit out there without me knowing it
I want it for at first small page - my holidays photos etc than I want to make it my portfolio / my own website
I want have possibility to host let say two/three different websites on same server (a not complicated javascript css websites? holiday+myweb+myfrend website -is it possible?

it doesnt have to be free as I am aware of adds etc so I want plain web with my stuff only but because its just for me getting to know all these webmastering I want to keep it let say under 10-15euros a month.

Will appreciate any thoughts and recommendations!

This post has been edited by monstratonis: 13 July 2012 - 02:37 AM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: advice needed

• .. does not guess solutions
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: advice needed

Posted 13 July 2012 - 03:24 AM

You don't need a server.

Shared hosting will do just fine for you, and can be extremely cheap (talking just over €15 for a year!). From the sounds of it you're not going to have much traffic (this isn't personal of course) so shared hosting will do just fine.

It's going to be secure as long as your passwords are secure.

If you really want to go down the server route so you have more control, start off with a small VPS as you will not realise any benefit at all from a physical dedicated box. You can always scale the VPS up too, normally instantly.

This post has been edited by RudiVisser: 13 July 2012 - 03:36 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Posted 13 July 2012 - 03:51 AM