10 Replies - 770 Views - Last Post: 19 July 2012 - 12:18 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

need some help starting up

Posted 14 July 2012 - 08:39 AM

first of all i've got no experience programming at all lol xD?

ok so my goal is to create a mmo rts through instalion or web based
think about a maffia game stronghold kingdoms style (got the whole plan in my head xD)
i am aware of how much i need too learn to achieve this but i'm rather stubborn
anyways looked at some threads and came to the conclusion i had some questions lol

1. do i choose browser based or through instalation.. (is this even possible in browser based game?)
2. how do i know what programming language i choose, what's easy or what works better with such type of games
3. is 3D a lot harder than 2D?

lol i guess thats it
if people can help me out... would be apreciated

im not english so sorry if somethings wrong xD

grtzz

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: need some help starting up

• Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: need some help starting up

Posted 14 July 2012 - 09:25 AM

Before you go into thinking about all this implementation details stuff, I suggest you first take a step back and write down the game from your head onto paper.

Things to write about...

1) The game's story line (plot), characters etc
2) Game mechanics (how the game works). Is it turn based? Do characters level up? If so, how? How do fights work? Are there power ups for health?
3) How does a player win/lose? Define what it is to win the game. Save the long lost girlfriend? They achieve a certain level? Gain certain amount of points?
4) When will you know when your project is ready for beta testing?
5) How will you test it?

Once you write all this out and get an idea of how things will work (without having touched a single line of code) you will have a better idea of what you are going to need to learn and collect for resources.