2 Replies - 7477 Views - Last Post: 25 July 2012 - 06:10 AM

#1 gopal.nivas84  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 16-July 12

How to detect whether the client machine has installed silverlight?

Posted 16 July 2012 - 01:43 AM

Hello,

i am using silverlight 5 and hosted the SL5 application.

As we all have seen, when we come in the homepage of this website, we will see a message telling us to install silverlight if we haven't installed silverlight. How to detect if the client machine has not installed silverlight ?
if not installed i need to show a custom message and take the user into micorsoft site in order to download the silverlight instead of the install silverlight message.

Regards

gopal.s

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How to detect whether the client machine has installed silverlight?

#2 ThrowsException  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 33
  • View blog
  • Posts: 83
  • Joined: 21-February 12

Re: How to detect whether the client machine has installed silverlight?

Posted 16 July 2012 - 05:41 AM

In your Silverlight startup project look for your aspx page that starts up. Inside that aspx page look for a div with an id of "silverlightControlHost". I believe this is a default so if yours has changed try searching on "minRuntimeVersion" instead. Wherever you find that stuff is where you specify all the parameters when Silverlight starts up such as the minimum version and what to display when silverlight is not found. There could be more ways to do it but this is the simplest way I know if all you wanna do is display a different message.

this msdn article has some more information on the plugin object.

This post has been edited by ThrowsException: 16 July 2012 - 05:42 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 eclipsed4utoo  Icon User is offline

  • Not Your Ordinary Programmer
  • member icon

Reputation: 1524
  • View blog
  • Posts: 5,960
  • Joined: 21-March 08

Re: How to detect whether the client machine has installed silverlight?

Posted 25 July 2012 - 06:10 AM

This is how normal people do it...

http://www.silverlig...rade-experience

It allows you to totally change how the "you need to install silverlight" looks.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1