Server for a Single player game

• (2 Pages)
  • +

21 Replies - 1378 Views - Last Post: 25 July 2012 - 06:33 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Server for a Single player game

Posted 19 July 2012 - 05:06 PM

I'm interested in modding a single player game up to the point that it can be played for atleast two players.
Since I have no experience I was hoping for some advice.
What are the primary things that make single player games different from multiplayer (except the obvious)?

I thought of starting from programming a server, this tutorial looks like something I need?
http://www.dreaminco...-serve-clients/

Thanks!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Server for a Single player game

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Server for a Single player game

Posted 19 July 2012 - 05:09 PM

What game are you modding?

What are the primary things that make single player games different from multiplayer (except the obvious)?

For the folks at home - what are the "obvious" things you had in mind? I would hate to retread over ground.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 19 July 2012 - 05:37 PM

My first idea was The Elder Scrolls Skyrim but I'm afraid that I'm a bit over my head. Still i thought, since it has proven to be quite good for modding, it's a resonable idea.

By obvious I meant the difference of the number of players involved.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Lover

• View blog

Posted 19 July 2012 - 05:52 PM

There are several issues that have not been addressed here:

1. Some game that allow you to mod them will only provide limited source code with the rest locked away in libraries, these ones you will not be able to convert from single player to two players.