Question:Access website locally Can't access from outside world

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2

22 Replies - 10689 Views - Last Post: 01 May 2013 - 09:34 AM

#1 BarNunBoi  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 6
  • View blog
  • Posts: 232
  • Joined: 28-March 12

Question:Access website locally Can't access from outside world

Posted 20 July 2012 - 12:10 PM

Hello,
I have a quick question maybe someone can help me with. I am able to access a company website locally but clients on the outside world can't access the site. I don't know what could cause this. With that said, I am not an network admin so I need some help from someone with experience. One thing someone from our IT dept mentioned maybe our IP address from that particular site has been blacklisted due to spam within our company, I have no idea though. Having said all of that, any help will be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance!

This post has been edited by BarNunBoi: 20 July 2012 - 12:28 PM


Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Question:Access website locally Can't access from outside world

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9500
  • View blog
  • Posts: 35,848
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Question:Access website locally Can't access from outside world

Posted 20 July 2012 - 12:19 PM

How's your site being served? Windows, Linux? Mac?
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#3 BarNunBoi  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 6
  • View blog
  • Posts: 232
  • Joined: 28-March 12

Re: Question:Access website locally Can't access from outside world

Posted 20 July 2012 - 12:21 PM

Windows Sever 2003 R2
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9500
  • View blog
  • Posts: 35,848
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Question:Access website locally Can't access from outside world

Posted 20 July 2012 - 12:24 PM

Do you have your IIS set up right to access the site?
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#5 BarNunBoi  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 6
  • View blog
  • Posts: 232
  • Joined: 28-March 12

Re: Question:Access website locally Can't access from outside world

Posted 20 July 2012 - 12:27 PM

yes...when I go to lets say my intro page and click browse the site pops up just fine! Also other people and I can access from our workstations.....but when it comes to people accessing from the outside world they are not able to get through.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9500
  • View blog
  • Posts: 35,848
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Question:Access website locally Can't access from outside world

Posted 20 July 2012 - 12:32 PM

when you access it do you go to a "www.<site name>.com" or do you use "localhost"?
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#7 BarNunBoi  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 6
  • View blog
  • Posts: 232
  • Joined: 28-March 12

Re: Question:Access website locally Can't access from outside world

Posted 20 July 2012 - 12:35 PM

from my workstation I use the web address....
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9500
  • View blog
  • Posts: 35,848
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Question:Access website locally Can't access from outside world

Posted 20 July 2012 - 12:41 PM

Check your company's firewall settings.. I am guessing something isn't being routed right..
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#9 BarNunBoi  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 6
  • View blog
  • Posts: 232
  • Joined: 28-March 12

Re: Question:Access website locally Can't access from outside world

Posted 20 July 2012 - 12:44 PM

ok...I will get back with you either today or Monday..and I am going to inbox you the website to see if you can access it...thanks modi!

This post has been edited by BarNunBoi: 20 July 2012 - 12:45 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#10 Lemur  Icon User is offline

  • Pragmatism over Dogma
  • member icon


Reputation: 1381
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,511
  • Joined: 28-November 09

Re: Question:Access website locally Can't access from outside world

Posted 22 July 2012 - 02:18 PM

You would need to check the routing settings. IPv4 has such limited addressing that sites are masked behind their routers, meaning the public IP is pointing at the router. Unless you explicitly tell the router to forward traffic on a certain port, it will ask the router what it has running on that port.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#11 BarNunBoi  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 6
  • View blog
  • Posts: 232
  • Joined: 28-March 12

Re: Question:Access website locally Can't access from outside world

Posted 23 July 2012 - 06:50 AM

Routing and remote access is not enabled on this sever.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#12 Lemur  Icon User is offline

  • Pragmatism over Dogma
  • member icon


Reputation: 1381
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,511
  • Joined: 28-November 09

Re: Question:Access website locally Can't access from outside world

Posted 24 July 2012 - 10:04 PM

Routing on the server at the DMZ or public level would have to be implemented. You would also have to allow access from external hosts in apache.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#13 BarNunBoi  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 6
  • View blog
  • Posts: 232
  • Joined: 28-March 12

Re: Question:Access website locally Can't access from outside world

Posted 16 August 2012 - 07:17 AM

Someone try to go to www.ilsamerica.com and let me know what happens please!! I am trying to troubleshoot this site and Im not having any luck. I can access it internally but no one can touch the site from the outside. I don't know if my IIS is not configured right or if my port is not opened. Any pointers would be greatly appreciated!

This post has been edited by BarNunBoi: 16 August 2012 - 07:19 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#14 no2pencil  Icon User is offline

  • Admiral Fancy Pants
  • member icon

Reputation: 5382
  • View blog
  • Posts: 27,350
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: Question:Access website locally Can't access from outside world

Posted 16 August 2012 - 07:21 AM

Why do you have two topics regarding networking?

Was this ever resolved? I would think the actually connectivity should be addressed before you worry about port forwarding.

Quote

traceroute to ilsamerica.com (64.45.251.172), 64 hops max, 52 byte packets
1 192.168.0.1 (192.168.0.1) 0.436 ms 0.333 ms 0.564 ms
2 69.3.207.37.vr9.sfldmidn-seb1.southfield.covad.com (69.3.207.37) 22.187 ms 21.456 ms 15.465 ms
3 192.168.7.93 (192.168.7.93) 16.138 ms 14.727 ms 15.437 ms
4 ip65-46-184-41.z184-46-65.customer.algx.net (65.46.184.41) 16.437 ms 16.312 ms 15.247 ms
5 216.156.13.89.ptr.us.xo.net (216.156.13.89) 17.250 ms 18.243 ms 18.564 ms
6 ae1d0.mcr1.southfield-mi.us.xo.net (216.156.1.93) 19.996 ms 18.553 ms 19.698 ms
7 vb1730.rar3.chicago-il.us.xo.net (216.156.0.185) 26.943 ms 26.778 ms 35.912 ms
8 207.88.14.194.ptr.us.xo.net (207.88.14.194) 23.820 ms * *
9 206.111.2.86.ptr.us.xo.net (206.111.2.86) 20.799 ms 22.961 ms 20.625 ms
10 * * *
11 72.165.208.158 (72.165.208.158) 48.314 ms 49.732 ms 52.158 ms
12 bb-dllstx37-jx9-01-ae0.core.centurytel.net (206.51.69.57) 50.877 ms 911.540 ms 964.513 ms
13 206.51.81.1 (206.51.81.1) 156.567 ms 179.679 ms 56.600 ms
14 tx-74-5-125-150.sta.embarqhsd.net (74.5.125.150) 62.294 ms 55.071 ms 54.389 ms
15 * * *
16 * * *
17 * * *
18 * * *

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#15 BarNunBoi  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 6
  • View blog
  • Posts: 232
  • Joined: 28-March 12

Re: Question:Access website locally Can't access from outside world

Posted 16 August 2012 - 07:33 AM

Well we called our ISP....and they said there was nothing wrong.....but after we called them....people could touch it....and the next day no one could get there from the outside...I dont know what the issue is..With that said....Im not really sure how to read that tracert.....I just see that it dies on hop 14

how do I troubleshoot the tracert?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2