• (2 Pages)
  • +

15 Replies - 1120 Views - Last Post: 23 July 2012 - 09:11 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Locating a database that I didn't create

Posted 20 July 2012 - 12:14 PM

Hi all,

I'm new to a job and am trying to go through the old employee's files. There is PHP, Javascript, Access, VisualBasic, and a few others extensions I'm not familiar with. One of our main tools our company uses is run off of the guy's local server. He uses Uniform Server and it starts when the machine boots.

My question is: I am trying to add a person to the website so when they login on their work computer, the tool we use recognizes the login and gives a specific menu based on the user's credentials. The old work has this set up for people who worked here, but I cannot figure out how to add a new employee (including myself). How can a php page link to a database, or where should I be looking for this database? Is it going to be Access or MySQL or both? Is there a config file I can check?

All of his PHP pages contain Javascript and they look like they contain database connection code, but I'm not sure what table to look for or where to look.

Thanks in advance.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Locating a database that I didn't create

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Locating a database that I didn't create

Posted 20 July 2012 - 12:21 PM

I would start with looking at this "guy's local server.". I mean that pegs it down to one machine, right? Then it's an issue of sifting through what is installed and what is being served. The connection string in the php should fire back to the machine's address if you need to verify.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 20 July 2012 - 12:37 PM