8 Replies - 4372 Views - Last Post: 27 July 2012 - 09:54 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Any QT programmers here?

Posted 22 July 2012 - 01:47 AM

Just wondered if there were any Qt users on this forum. I started learning Qt about a week ago (not actively, though. Mostly light reading between maths problems), because I just wanted some diversity in my Linux toolkit, and so far - I love it. Their signal slot mechanism has so many faces, it lets you actually work with it as you want, and isn't limiting in any way.

So, who else uses or is learning Qt? Free cookies!
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Any QT programmers here?

• Born again Pastafarian.
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Any QT programmers here?

Posted 22 July 2012 - 01:39 PM

I have used Qt before, in fact, I became quite familiar with it. I doubt I could recall everything I learned though. Overall, I think Qt is good, but my criticism is that it tries to reinvent much of the C++ standard library. For example, instead of std::string, Qt implements QString. I see no reason for it, even if some may have a certain dislike for parts of the C++ standard library. I would go further to say that I believe Qt provides too much abstraction from the OS's API. Personally, when it comes to wrapper API's, I would take a minimalist approach, which is not Qt's approach.

On the bright side though, I think Qt does a great job given the circumstances. Wrappers for cross-platform GUI development is never going to be straight forward.

This post has been edited by Aphex19: 22 July 2012 - 01:46 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• member icon

• View blog

Posted 22 July 2012 - 01:58 PM

I think Qt is great. It's my goto framework when I have to do GUI things on Linux.
As an aside to Aphex19: I believe that Qt was originally designed as a mobile framework that would be the STL for that platform. I also prefer QtCore to the STL.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog