12 Replies - 3734 Views - Last Post: 25 July 2012 - 09:41 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Killing my career before it starts?

Posted 23 July 2012 - 05:11 PM

Hello fellow posters!

I just recently graduated from college with a bachelors degree in computer information systems. Coming straight out of school, I applied to every tech related job I could find. I want to be a software developer, but development jobs are scarce in these parts right now and I need cash flow to pay off my student loans, so I landed a job doing basic technical support stuff. If I worked in tech support for a year or two (coding on the side to make sure I don't get rusty) will that make me look bad to potential interviewers when I try to shift into development? I obviously need the money to pay off student loans, but I also don't want to kill my career before it starts.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Killing my career before it starts?

• Code herder
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Killing my career before it starts?

Posted 23 July 2012 - 05:24 PM

Some of the best developers I know started in tech support. They know the user's pain when there are bugs in the program or if a program is designed poorly. So in projects, they are the ones who are hardcore about "getting it right" or "focusing on the user experience".
Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

• Admiral Fancy Pants
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 23 July 2012 - 05:35 PM

View PostJayp806, on 23 July 2012 - 08:11 PM, said:

If I worked in tech support for a year or two (coding on the side to make sure I don't get rusty) will that make me look bad to potential interviewers when I try to shift into development?

In a fortune 500 company I went from level 1 help desk technician to a level 3 application analyst position, working with Unix, Java, & being part of a 24x7 emergency support team.