5 Replies - 10544 Views - Last Post: 30 July 2012 - 03:58 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Wanting to make a browser based game

Posted 28 July 2012 - 11:13 PM

So im new to game development. Eventually want to make high end games like Call of duty and Skyrim once i start and finish college and get my bachelors in Game Development. So i wanted a head start before i get into college. Im going to start making browser based games like ones found on ArmorGames.com and Kongegate. What languages so i need to learn to make these games as well as what programs are needed to create them. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Wanting to make a browser based game

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Wanting to make a browser based game

Posted 29 July 2012 - 01:15 AM

All web development is based on HTML, CSS and Javascript. If you want to create browser-based games, those are the languages you need to learn. There aren't really any programs you "need" for that, other than a basic text-editor (Notepad++ is a popular choice), but once you start creating large projects you can usually benefit from using an IDE. Some popular choices in that area are Aptana, Netbeans and Adobe Dreamweaver. (The first two are free, while Dremaweaver is expensive.)

Another strategy for creating browser-based games is to use Flash. Once upon a time that was really the only sane choice, but these days Javascript can in many ways replace Flash. However if you are serious about browser based game development, you should at least look into Flash. - The Adobe Flash IDE is also expensive, but it provides a lot of graphics related features that can be useful. It's not necessary though, if you don't mind doing the graphics work in other tools and integrating them into your games through code. (That's not a bad skill to develop, by the way, if you plan on a career in game development.)