Program name used to control logic flow

  • (4 Pages)
  • +
  • « First
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4

49 Replies - 5269 Views - Last Post: 31 July 2012 - 05:54 PM

Poll: Program name to control logic (18 member(s) have cast votes)

Most apps could make good use of this feature

  1. What a dumb idea SpectateSwamp (2 votes [5.26%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 5.26%

  2. Brilliant just brilliant (7 votes [18.42%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 18.42%

  3. Good design does not need this (2 votes [5.26%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 5.26%

  4. I use that all the time (4 votes [10.53%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 10.53%

  5. what do you mean program name control (4 votes [10.53%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 10.53%

  6. Wow count me in (3 votes [7.89%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 7.89%

  7. The perfect perfects will be pissed (6 votes [15.79%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 15.79%

  8. This will change programming forever (10 votes [26.32%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 26.32%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#46 WolfCoder  Icon User is offline

  • Isn't a volcano just an angry hill?
  • member icon


Reputation: 784
  • View blog
  • Posts: 7,613
  • Joined: 05-May 05

Re: Program name used to control logic flow

Posted 31 July 2012 - 09:42 AM

I can't read more than one post at a time on any machine or screen, not since the forum got this motif back in.. I forgot when they switched to this new style.

This post has been edited by WolfCoder: 31 July 2012 - 09:43 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#47 jon.kiparsky  Icon User is offline

  • Pancakes!
  • member icon


Reputation: 7802
  • View blog
  • Posts: 13,197
  • Joined: 19-March 11

Re: Program name used to control logic flow

Posted 31 July 2012 - 09:44 AM

View PostWolfCoder, on 31 July 2012 - 11:42 AM, said:

I can't read more than one post at a time on any machine or screen, not since the forum got this motif back in.. I forgot when they switched to this new style.


I get confused if I try to read more than one post at a time.
Was This Post Helpful? 3
  • +
  • -

#48 stackoverflow  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

Reputation: 165
  • View blog
  • Posts: 545
  • Joined: 06-July 11

Re: Program name used to control logic flow

Posted 31 July 2012 - 01:31 PM

Python does this all the time. If a program is executed its internal name is '__main__'. Python developers often make modules execute test code if they are ran as 'main' and if not ran as main they are modules.

http://www.python.or.../peps/pep-0299/

This post has been edited by stackoverflow: 31 July 2012 - 01:33 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#49 Martyr2  Icon User is offline

  • Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

Reputation: 4353
  • View blog
  • Posts: 12,160
  • Joined: 18-April 07

Re: Program name used to control logic flow

Posted 31 July 2012 - 04:20 PM

Quote

Putting in a goto and jamming it saved me a lot of time.


And this is why the ladies don't like us nerds. We just don't take our time with them.
Was This Post Helpful? 3
  • +
  • -

#50 dorknexus  Icon User is offline

  • or something bad...real bad.
  • member icon

Reputation: 1256
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,618
  • Joined: 02-May 04

Re: Program name used to control logic flow

Posted 31 July 2012 - 05:54 PM

"GOTO Considered Unromantic"
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

  • (4 Pages)
  • +
  • « First
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4