if statement: variable != list of strings

• (2 Pages)
  • +

23 Replies - 4080 Views - Last Post: 01 August 2012 - 02:14 PM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

if statement: variable != list of strings

Posted 31 July 2012 - 11:32 AM

Hi DiC, I am very new at C# programming and this is my first language ever (oh boy, here we go...)

I am currently building a Console application that constantly scans the user input and executes various tasks depending on the input.

Since it may be mixing up just to write "EXIT" to close the application, I wanted to add a list of strings, containing about 10 ways to close the program. Example: exit, close, stop... and all of those in Capital letters too, making the string list even longer. My current code looks like that (only the useful parts)
string[] closeApp = { "exit", "EXIT", "QUIT", "quit", "stop", "STOP", "close", "kill", "KILL", "CLOSE", "  " };
[...]
 else if (userValue != closeApp[0] && userValue != closeApp[1] && userValue != closeApp[2] && userValue != closeApp[3] && userValue != closeApp[4] && userValue != closeApp[5] && userValue != closeApp[6] && userValue != closeApp[7] && userValue != closeApp[8] && userValue != closeApp[9] && userValue != closeApp[10])
            {
                goto BEGIN;
            }

My question is: Is there a way to include the list of strings closeApp[0] to closeApp[10] within less characters?
Even though this code works well, I just feel like it's useless since I am 100% sure there's a shorter way to "say" this.
Thanks!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: if statement: variable != list of strings

• Code herder
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: if statement: variable != list of strings

Posted 31 July 2012 - 11:40 AM

You can use String.Compare() that takes a flag to ignore case.
http://msdn.microsof...y/zkcaxw5y.aspx

You can use a loop (for, foreach, while, do-while) to iterate over your array.
http://msdn.microsof...8).aspx#Looping