9 Replies - 786 Views - Last Post: 05 August 2012 - 05:07 AM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Question about C# GUIs

Posted 02 August 2012 - 05:10 PM

I'm a prospective C# programmer with a background in Java and C++. My question is: how are GUI's coded in C#? In the case of Java GUIs, the majority of people here highly suggest writing all GUIs by hand and avoiding GUI builders because the code they produce isn't very human readable. Should GUIs in C# be written completely by hand as well or are there "GUI builders" that produce legible code?

Thanks
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Question about C# GUIs

• Code herder
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Question about C# GUIs

Posted 02 August 2012 - 05:38 PM

For projects that I care about, and I don't have to work with other people in a team, I personally hand write my GUI's for WinForms and for WPF. If I have to work with a team, then I'll grudgingly use the VS2010 Designer, unless the other team members also believe in handwriting forms (which is not very likely). As for WPF, if it's complex UI, use the VS2010 Designer or Blend to get all the pixel counting and frame timing done right. I feel that people are lying though if they say they never touch the XAML directly.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 02 August 2012 - 05:47 PM

Thanks for the reply. A couple of questions: Do you know of any resources that discuss hand writing GUIs in C#? Also, what are "WinForms", "WPF", and "XAML"?

Thanks
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Code herder
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 02 August 2012 - 06:07 PM

WinForms is a thin wrapper around the Win32 controls, in general. There are actually some WinForms controls that have been written from scratch in C# like the DataGridView. These controls can be found in the System.Windows.Forms namespace. Getting Started with Windows Forms