1 Replies - 5073 Views - Last Post: 05 August 2012 - 07:02 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Getting Into Developing Apps For iOS?

Posted 02 August 2012 - 06:23 PM

Hi there, hope all are well. :)

Let me start by saying that I'm a novice coder, and I wouldn't consider myself a true programmer in any sense of the word. The only languages I am proficient in are HTML, CSS, and to an extent, Javascript - no more.

Having said that, the reason for my posting in this forum is because I'm wanting to get into developing apps for iOS (iPhones, iPods, and iPads) - not professionally (yet?), but just as a hobby: doing something that I think I'll enjoy and that I can make a decent bit of money from at the same time. I understand this forum is probably full of experienced developers who have done just that. I have a couple (well, if I'm honest, quite a lot) of questions which I want to pose to you guys, and I'd appreciate it a lot if you could help me out.

My biggest question, and no doubt more will probably follow - what would me getting into developing actually involve me learning? Can anyone give me an overview, as detailed as possible if they wouldn't mind, of what getting into developing will entail for me: what I'll need to learn and get to grips with to get started. Things like the language, the framework, etc. For a start, what language would I need to learn? From the research I've done, Objective C seems to be considered THE language to learn for iOS development, despite other languages like C++ being supported (correct me if my knowledge is incorrect here). So, how long would it take me to learn Objective C if I was to be teaching myself in my spare time? Practically, is that something that can be done, provided that I was dedicated enough, despite having no experience of any other programming languages before? Would I need to learn another language like C or C++ before starting Objective C?