4 Replies - 6115 Views - Last Post: 04 August 2012 - 11:55 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Some advice regarding programming roles.

Posted 03 August 2012 - 03:44 PM

Hey all,

I currently work in finance and want a career change. I have a strong interest in computers and IT and would like (I believe) to go into software development as I think it probably allows a fair bit of creativity/ingenuity.

Thing is, I'm a little lost. The course at the University near me offers a primarily Java based approach with a few variances in modules. First of all, I am not highly qualified in Math (though finance obviously utilises mathematics but I would presume not to the same level as programming. How advanced is the Math here?

Second, I don't want to commit a large amount of money to a course and find out I don't like it. Can anyone suggest a way for me to "test the water" programming wise, to see if I find it enjoyable? Also, do jobs available with this type of degree allow a fair bit of flexibility and creative though? I feel stifled in finance because although the money is great, the career satisfaction is nil. Does anybody here work in programming and do you dread the 9-5?

Sorry, I know this isn't strictly programming related but thought this the best place to ask.

Much appreciated,

Conure

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Some advice regarding programming roles.

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Some advice regarding programming roles.

Posted 03 August 2012 - 05:30 PM

Moving to the student forum..
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 03 August 2012 - 05:40 PM

How advanced is the Math here?

Depends on the program and what concentration you pickup. Calculus.. discrete math.. logical equations and truth tables.. etc.. etc.. etc. Which ever school you are looking at will have a listing of required math and you can get a feel for how they are directing you.