3 Replies - 5272 Views - Last Post: 08 August 2012 - 07:14 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Does this Java Design Make OO Sense?

Posted 07 August 2012 - 01:52 PM

Hi everyone, I am fairly new to Java still and want to work on my first 'real' project to try and get to grips turning concepts (mainly from Head First Java) into real-life code.

I am having major trouble 'fitting together' various classes and methods together such that my application conforms with OO principles. Deciding what should be a class, what shouldn't, what the responsibilities of each class should be etc... it's a bit of a headache at the moment so any help is very welcome.

My first go at diving straight into code (despite well intentions) quickly turned into having a 'god' object that held everything, and I don't think I had it right.

I want to make a relatively simple movie-information viewing application with swing that lets you log-in as a user from a combobox list (from a .txt file), and then displays a main window that includes a JList of movies (from a .txt file) and genre checkboxes to filter the JList.

---

The design:

Manager class
main () calls new Manager.start()
start () makes a new LoginFrame object

LoginFrame class extends JFrame
constructor sets up the GUI, creates new Helper object that fills the combobox from the file, and sets the 'Login' button ActionListener.
LoginButtonListener calls this.login()
login() makes a new MainWindow object, passing the selected user, and disposes itelf.

MainFrame class extends JFrame
constructor sets up GUI, the movie JList is filled from a new Helper object.getMovies method, and sets up the actionListener for the checkboxes.
CheckBoxListener calls this.updateJList()
updateJList updates the JList by looking at which checkboxes are selected

There are also User and Movie classes, which are returned by Helper as ArrayLists by Helper's methods.

---