7 Replies - 959 Views - Last Post: 10 August 2012 - 03:50 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Mechanical Engineer/Coder

Posted 07 August 2012 - 06:29 PM

Hi guys, I'm hoping you can help me plan out my life.

I'm 3/4 of the way through a mechanical/aerospace engineering degree. I started it a long time ago, back around 911. I wanted to build missles and planes to get the bad guys.

Now that I'm older and wiser, I don't want to be involved in anything that will hurt anyone. Not to mention, the pay for mechanical and aerospace engineers isn't too great. I dropped out 4 years ago and have played online poker for a living since.

My questions are:

1) Would it be best to finish my BSME, then learn how to program? Or should I just scrap it and get started learning?

2) Should I pursue a Bachelor's, or can I teach myself? (I know this is a really newbish question, but I'm a newb)

3) One of the main reasons I'm interested in learning programming is it seems there would be lots of opportunities to go into business for yourself. Is this true?

Any other thoughts are welcomed.

Thanks for your time.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Mechanical Engineer/Coder

• LIKE A BOSS
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Mechanical Engineer/Coder

Posted 07 August 2012 - 06:32 PM

If it's in reach, finish your degree. It doesn't take a degree to program, so you can learn that on your own/with online resources.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Pragmatism over Dogma
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 07 August 2012 - 07:01 PM

Finish the degree. A single piece of paper like that is worth far more than you could ever imagine to most employers. Does it make you more valuable? Possibly, but to them it's a gold mine for some obscure reason.