1 Replies - 3369 Views - Last Post: 08 August 2012 - 12:00 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

2-D java array question

Posted 07 August 2012 - 11:44 PM

I am a novice at programming in Java. Here is a question which I am stuck at...

Write a program to simulate a simplified version of Connect 4. Connect 4 is a two player game played on a 6x6 game board, where the objective is to drop circular pieces into 6 column slots. The winner is decided when one of the two computer players is able to get 4 circular pieces together horizontally or vertically. This modified version of Connect 4 will be simulated using two computer players.

Assume there is no user input for this game. The 6x6 board will be simulated using a 6 x 6 2D array. At the start, the game must randomly decide which computer player (1 or 2) will go first. Then, the program should simulate the game play as follows:

• At each turn, the current state of the game board should be displayed
• At each turn, each computer player randomly drops a circular piece into one of the 6 column slots. The column to be dropped into must be randomly decided. Each column slot can only take a maximum of 6 pieces. Then, when a circular piece is dropped in, it will go into a position in that column, which has a x and y value (e.g. [2][2]). If that column is full, then the computer player skips the turn.
• After each circular piece is dropped, the program must check if that computer player has won or not. A win means that after that drop there is either a horizontal or vertical group of 4 circular pieces on the game board.
• If there is no winner, then at the end of the turn, the updated state of the 6x6 2D game board should be displayed.

Overall, each position (or slot) in the displayed 6x6 2D game board can contain any of the following:
• -1 not occupied yet
• 1 occupied by computer player 1’s circular piece
• 2 occupied by computer player 2’s circular piece