3 Replies - 1081 Views - Last Post: 08 August 2012 - 03:28 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Computer Science VS Computer Engineering, which is better for me?

Posted 08 August 2012 - 06:47 AM

Hi everyone!
I'm an international student, will be seattle for college studies.
I don't know which might be better for me.
But I acutally wanna be a software engineer.
The most important element for me is the work opportunities. I don't actually know which might be easier to get a job. And which might be more difficult, or just which might be more potential in the future :)
Thank you very much :)

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Computer Science VS Computer Engineering, which is better for me?

• The Algorithmi
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Computer Science VS Computer Engineering, which is better for me?

Posted 08 August 2012 - 06:59 AM

My advice is to not think in terms of money or job opportunities, instead think about which one you like better, that way you can be good at it and eventually make good money as well. Pick Computer engineering if you are interested to learn about some hardware and electronics in addition to computer programming, pick computer science if you're more interested in mathematics. Since you want to be a software engineer, you may want to look into software engineering programs, a lot of universities have those, otherwise I think its better to pick CS. Its also a good idea to talk to an adviser at your school.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 08 August 2012 - 07:20 AM

As the designated hard-ass let me put to you as one grown up to another - No rainbows and unicorns just hard truth:

Nobody here knows you, your likes, your strengths, your loves, your motivations, your situation and your desires for life. How the hell is anyone here supposed to be able to guide you to the right path in life?