7 Replies - 2135 Views - Last Post: 09 August 2012 - 04:56 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Multiple text colors

Posted 08 August 2012 - 05:56 PM

I am new to c# programing and now creating asp.net c# web application, i want to display different words with different colors using a textbox. is there any way to do it ???
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Multiple text colors

• Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Multiple text colors

Posted 08 August 2012 - 06:11 PM

No, not in a textbox. A WinForms RichTextBox or WPF RichTextBox does support color.

Of course since you are just starting out and it is all equally new to you, I would suggest you jump straight to WPF and leave WinForms behind. Its the direction everything is being pushed and puts you more in line with Windows8 and silverlight development.

First learn the language by working 2-5 "Learn C# in 30 days" type books cover to cover. Do a couple hundred on-line tutorial projects where you build what you're told to build, the way you are told to build it WITH AN EXPLANATION OF WHY so you can learn.

Then later you can start architecting your own simple stuff. Build a calculator. Build a DVD library program. Etc. Stuff that doesn't involve the complexity of a game. Then move up to games.

There are three routes people seem to take when learning programming.
  • Just start trying to create programs
  • Start taking apart other programs and try to figure out the language by reverse engineering
  • Follow a guided learning course (school or self-teaching books)

For the life of me I can't figure out why people try 1 & 2. I strongly suggest taking the guided learning approach. Those book authors go in a certain order for a reason: They know what they're doing and they know the best order to learn the materials.

Where do I start?

You start by learning a coding language FIRST.
Learn to plan before you type.