4 Replies - 505 Views - Last Post: 10 August 2012 - 11:35 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Database application model

Posted 10 August 2012 - 10:28 AM

Hello All
I am relatively new to C# and also database programming in general. I thought that the best way to get off the ground would be to write a small database application.
I want to try and write a small database application that manages the following aspects of a small business.
1.) Quoting
2.) Invoicing
3.) Debtors
4.) Contacts
The business is a serviced based business so there is no need for stock management etc.
I want to try and use MySql and C# express 2010.
The concept of how the database tables should be structured and related etc, is not a problem. The main problem is how to model the problem in C#. IOW Can anyone give me some advice as to how to what the class hierarchy should look like.
I am thinking that there will be one base class that manages the database connection and all transactions. This could be an abstract class or maybe an interface (although I am not sure I have the concept of interfaces down just yet). All other classes (one for debtors, one for invoices etc, etc.) will inherit from this base class.
Is this a workable solution or does anyone have a correct / better suggestion.
Any advice on some reading material would also be much appreciated.
Thanks in advance
Rob

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Database application model

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Database application model

Posted 10 August 2012 - 11:09 AM

You can use a base class if you have columns each of your tables have in common. Otherwise each class will mirror a table's column structure.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 Curtis Rutland  Icon User is online

• (╯□)╯︵ (~ .o.)~
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 10 August 2012 - 11:10 AM