7 Replies - 1068 Views - Last Post: 15 August 2012 - 05:36 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

I will be graduating soon, and would love some advice

Posted 13 August 2012 - 12:53 AM

I have taken two C++ classes. My last class I took was OOP programming. I took a break from school, and I go back next month. I was trying to find/figure out what to do next. I need to start working on my coding skills because I graduate the beginning of next year. I am majoring in information security, however, it isn't what I thought it would be when I started going to college. Information security seems to be more centered around networking and building computer systems. I enjoy my coding classes much more. Anyway, I would like to really increase my skills as a programmer over the next 6 months this way I would possibly get a job as a software engineer or designer. I also have been looking into penetration testing, I think I would enjoy doing that as well, but I haven't seen any courses that my school offers that would cover something like that. Any advice that could steer me in the right direction would be great :D

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: I will be graduating soon, and would love some advice

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: I will be graduating soon, and would love some advice

Posted 13 August 2012 - 08:47 AM

Well you need to make a decision.. either you do infosec full time and programming as a hobby, or programming as a full time job and infosec as an interest. The reason info sec people need to be heavy in the hardware and systems is that is where the majority of their world is.. what makes up a secure network.. location of hardware.. system admin... ports and networks.. If you want to be a pentester then you need to throw yourself wholeheartedly into systems and networking. It's a tough gig and requires you to be on top of your game all the time.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog