Getting started

• (3 Pages)
  • +

33 Replies - 3680 Views - Last Post: 19 August 2012 - 03:03 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Getting started

Posted 14 August 2012 - 03:49 AM

I actually tried C# before. Gave up because the built in Network framework was crap in my opinion. (I was a newbie back then) and couldn't get around the games for windows thing. If there are alternatives to that then I could give it a shot.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• フカユ
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 14 August 2012 - 04:37 AM

I find it hard to recommend C# and XNA at this point in time due to the uncertainty surrounding its future with windows 8. Also the fact that you're tied to windows never really did it for me (I know there are ways to develop non-windows games, but not out of the box). This of course doesn't stop its many evangelists and you should never discount it completely. Just my 2 cents :)
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 14 August 2012 - 09:05 AM

View PostSilver1992, on 14 August 2012 - 10:49 AM, said:

I actually tried C# before. Gave up because the built in Network framework was crap in my opinion. (I was a newbie back then) and couldn't get around the games for windows thing. If there are alternatives to that then I could give it a shot.

If you mean System.Net, no offense, but you are on crack. :)

With the possible exception of working with NodeJS, I have NEVER come close to the ease of use of the .NET networking classes. Granted, the underlying protocols are a bit crufty, but that's true of every api, they can't exactly recreate UDP/TCP at this point.