6 Replies - 2289 Views - Last Post: 16 August 2012 - 06:57 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

List save/manipulate

Posted 14 August 2012 - 04:54 PM

I am new at python.For my first big project,i am making a program that would keep track of inventory, stuff sold(day to day),add inventory or items to inventory...ect .But right now I am only at the getting the inventory. I have tried importing with append but it would show the inventory items(ignored the "inventory" list variable).I need (if possible)I need a simple script that creates a file(if not found) and adds a list that the user can choose the name(variable name for the "list=[]) and be able to save the file of list/s whenever the list is menipulated. I would only like the create if not there and be able to import the list while save whenever menipulated. I can problabley get the rest by myself. Thanks in advanced.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: List save/manipulate

• Pancakes!
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: List save/manipulate

Posted 14 August 2012 - 05:22 PM

I think you probably need to back up a little. You need to define what you're trying to do.

What is it that you're keeping an inventory of? What do you need to know about those things, and how do you intend to keep track of it? Do you want to do this with an object-oriented approach, or is a simple procedural approach sufficient? Do you want to be able to write this to a file and read it back in?

What is it that you need to do? If you can't specify the problem in the first place, you're going to have a hard time solving it.

This post has been edited by jon.kiparsky: 14 August 2012 - 05:22 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 14 August 2012 - 05:41 PM