9 Replies - 1172 Views - Last Post: 21 August 2012 - 12:35 AM Rate Topic: -----

#1 S3lkies  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 4
  • View blog
  • Posts: 248
  • Joined: 09-January 09

Database in conjunction with barcodes?

Posted 16 August 2012 - 10:24 PM

Hey all,

This is sort of a broad question - hope I'm posting in the right board ....

How can I go apart setting up a database (Im thinking about access here? )

I want to set up some fields for my company - such as name , number , address , email address etc etc.

I have a dymo label printer to print out the barcodes. Ive tried inputting the information on the barcode itself but the barcode becomes 'too big to print' , so I want to be able to link a database to the barcode so when its scanned it will load up all the information.

Sorry I have no code - I just have no place to start ):

Cheers for the help!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Database in conjunction with barcodes?

#2 miguel879  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 10
  • View blog
  • Posts: 40
  • Joined: 20-July 12

Re: Database in conjunction with barcodes?

Posted 16 August 2012 - 10:46 PM

First save the barcode number in a database including the other fields such as name,product etc.

then when you start coding just search for the barcode itself and just call the other fields..
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#3 S3lkies  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 4
  • View blog
  • Posts: 248
  • Joined: 09-January 09

Re: Database in conjunction with barcodes?

Posted 16 August 2012 - 10:50 PM

What i mean though - is when I scan the barcode I print out - with my phone or a barcode scanner - I want to be able to see the information linked to it in the database
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 miguel879  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 10
  • View blog
  • Posts: 40
  • Joined: 20-July 12

Re: Database in conjunction with barcodes?

Posted 16 August 2012 - 10:57 PM

ahh ok. try these (print 5 barcode number in a sheet of paper)
now you got 5 barcode numbers. (save the barcode number manually in your db with their respective fields)
after you save... then scan the barcode number and ull see the result..
i dont know what programming language do you use thats why i dont know how to explain it clearly.. anyway using barcode doesnt need a program code because the reason of having a barcode is to input the number in the system without entering it manually.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 S3lkies  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 4
  • View blog
  • Posts: 248
  • Joined: 09-January 09

Re: Database in conjunction with barcodes?

Posted 16 August 2012 - 11:17 PM

hmmm - I could only get it to load up just one field I chose - I couldn't get it to load up multiple fields when scanned \=
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 miguel879  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 10
  • View blog
  • Posts: 40
  • Joined: 20-July 12

Re: Database in conjunction with barcodes?

Posted 16 August 2012 - 11:59 PM

what language are you using..?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 S3lkies  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 4
  • View blog
  • Posts: 248
  • Joined: 09-January 09

Re: Database in conjunction with barcodes?

Posted 17 August 2012 - 12:04 AM

I just tried it in Access - I have no idea what program to do it in or even how to do it >.<
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 miguel879  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 10
  • View blog
  • Posts: 40
  • Joined: 20-July 12

Re: Database in conjunction with barcodes?

Posted 17 August 2012 - 12:23 AM

yikes youve got a big problem dude......
Was This Post Helpful? -1
  • +
  • -

#9 S3lkies  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 4
  • View blog
  • Posts: 248
  • Joined: 09-January 09

Re: Database in conjunction with barcodes?

Posted 17 August 2012 - 12:58 AM

hmmmm? how come?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#10 S3lkies  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 4
  • View blog
  • Posts: 248
  • Joined: 09-January 09

Re: Database in conjunction with barcodes?

Posted 21 August 2012 - 12:35 AM

bump
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1