5 Replies - 693 Views - Last Post: 17 August 2012 - 06:10 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Saving data to database

Posted 17 August 2012 - 03:52 AM

Ok, so I'm not a programmer by any means at this point, I'm still learning C++. I have been working on a simulation game project with a friend, and we have run into a couple issues we are trying to resolve.

The main one that I'm not really sure about how to address is this:

The game is written entirely in C++, with data in XML files. It is a memory hog and quickly eats up most of the available system memory, slowing the game to a near halt. I suggested the idea of using databases for some game data to free up system memory. That said, neither of us having any real experience with SQL.

So the question is...how would I go about integrating databases to increase game performance and decrease the overall draw on system resources?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Saving data to database

• フカユ
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Saving data to database

Posted 17 August 2012 - 05:29 AM

I guess a big question is what are you saving in these XML files and is it really required?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 BBeck  Icon User is online

• Here to help.
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 17 August 2012 - 06:34 AM

I agree with StayCrisp.

The first step is to look for waste and cut out the waste. Do you have textures that are larger than they need to be? Overlapping vertices? Are you using double words when you could have used bytes?

And if it's your XML files that are pegging the memory, you're either running on a 386 or your XML files are suspiciously large. I would assume that those XML files are loaded into appropriate datatypes in memory, rather than loaded into memory as XML.