11 Replies - 3286 Views - Last Post: 19 August 2012 - 06:51 PM Rate Topic: -----

#1 troyb408  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 67
  • Joined: 18-August 12

Error 262 permission

Posted 18 August 2012 - 08:50 AM

I've pulled my hair out over there error. What am I doing wrong. I've uninstalled and reinstalled a few times and dont know what I'm doing wrong with SQL 2012 just to create a generic table?

TITLE: Microsoft SQL Server Management Studio
------------------------------

Create failed for Database 'GenericDB'. (Microsoft.SqlServer.Smo)


ADDITIONAL INFORMATION:

An exception occurred while executing a Transact-SQL statement or batch. (Microsoft.SqlServer.ConnectionInfo)

------------------------------

CREATE DATABASE permission denied in database 'master'. (Microsoft SQL Server, Error: 262)

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Error 262 permission

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is offline

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 8379
  • View blog
  • Posts: 31,147
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Error 262 permission

Posted 18 August 2012 - 08:53 AM

Yeah.. look at the top left.. it should have a drop down that says "master".. change that to which db silo you want the table to be in.. or right click on said silo and do "new query".
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 troyb408  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 67
  • Joined: 18-August 12

Re: Error 262 permission

Posted 18 August 2012 - 09:10 AM

I'm not seeing that on my top left i have
General
Option
FileGroups
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 modi123_1  Icon User is offline

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 8379
  • View blog
  • Posts: 31,147
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Error 262 permission

Posted 18 August 2012 - 09:19 AM

Here.. here's where the master context drop down is and here's where you can do the right click and set the context.

Attached Image
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 troyb408  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 67
  • Joined: 18-August 12

Re: Error 262 permission

Posted 19 August 2012 - 07:51 AM

still didnt work said denied in master table


CREATE TABLE permission denied in database 'master'.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 troyb408  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 67
  • Joined: 18-August 12

Re: Error 262 permission

Posted 19 August 2012 - 08:09 AM

Didnt work screen shot attached
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 modi123_1  Icon User is offline

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 8379
  • View blog
  • Posts: 31,147
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Error 262 permission

Posted 19 August 2012 - 10:30 AM

What screen shot?

The point is to CHANGE it from Master to your database silo.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 troyb408  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 67
  • Joined: 18-August 12

Re: Error 262 permission

Posted 19 August 2012 - 04:13 PM

Screen shot not uploading but I did change it from MASTER to TestDB created a table with just two columns first and last name executed and received the same error. I appreciate the help guys
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 modi123_1  Icon User is offline

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 8379
  • View blog
  • Posts: 31,147
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Error 262 permission

Posted 19 August 2012 - 05:47 PM

Take a screen shot of this happening.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#10 troyb408  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 67
  • Joined: 18-August 12

Re: Error 262 permission

Posted 19 August 2012 - 06:19 PM

Shot attached..

Attached image(s)

  • Attached Image

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#11 modi123_1  Icon User is offline

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 8379
  • View blog
  • Posts: 31,147
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Error 262 permission

Posted 19 August 2012 - 06:26 PM

looks like you borked your permissions..


check out this.

http://blogs.amerite...or-account.html
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#12 troyb408  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 67
  • Joined: 18-August 12

Re: Error 262 permission

Posted 19 August 2012 - 06:51 PM

Thanks I thought when I installed i used the user account in my permissions but guess I didnt. Think I want to uninstall then re install because of a conflicting update.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1