• (2 Pages)
  • +

21 Replies - 4095 Views - Last Post: 04 December 2012 - 10:55 PM

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Question: Can you forget a language ?

Posted 18 August 2012 - 10:44 AM

Hello !
I started learning C# few days ago and it's working great with the basics so far since I already know C++ to a certain extent . Also, I am learning by Charles Petzold's .NET Book Zero which was written precisely for C++ to C# move .
However , I am wondering , has it ever happened to you to forget a previously learned language while learning a new one ? or mixing syntax , anything like that :)

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 2
  • +

Replies To: Question: Can you forget a language ?

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Question: Can you forget a language ?

Posted 18 August 2012 - 10:45 AM

Certainly.. all the time. The key is learning the concepts and the syntax becomes a secondary issue.

Moving to 'software development'.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Posted 18 August 2012 - 10:52 AM

Thanks . Didn't know exactly where to put the topic . And the problem is next summer I'll have my 12th grade exam to go to college and to get into college I'll have to pass another exam and all those are either in Pascal or C++ , so I don't wanna end up making stupid mistakes by mixing C# with C++ syntax .
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 18 August 2012 - 10:55 AM

Like I said - as long as you have concepts down and brush up on the syntax you can get your way through. I can't remember exact syntax of all the languages I deal with, but I know what I want to do and how to get there so the actual path.. meh - less important.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Posted 18 August 2012 - 11:47 AM

For the record , how many languages do you know ?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 18 August 2012 - 11:52 AM