11 Replies - 2113 Views - Last Post: 31 August 2012 - 10:29 PM

• HAL9000 was an Apple product
  • member icon

• View blog

Advice to ace my interview?

Posted 22 August 2012 - 02:29 AM

I have an interview tomorrow (Thursday) morning with Atos for an alternance position (2 year paid contract, 3 weeks per month in company, 1 week in school, degree at the end). I really need and want this job.

Against me, I have no professional experience in IT, and have an imperfect grasp of the local language, and I feel this last will be a huge obstacle.

However, in my favor I am fluent in English and am very passionate about IT, having learned a lot of computer skills on my own time and of my own volition. The latter I feel is my best opportunity to convince the recruiter that I am worth the effort.

One of my employment counselors has suggested I bring with me several materials to present to show off any skills I currently have - the problem is that my skills are more about coding and development, and the job will be more about general IT support and maintenance.

I'd like it if anyone could suggest some things I might be able to put together to impress the recruiter. I have a Windows 7/Ubuntu dual-boot on my laptop with Windows 8 on a virtual machine - this is one of the things I was thinking I could show them.

Suggestions?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Advice to ace my interview?

• D.I.C Lover

• View blog

Re: Advice to ace my interview?

Posted 22 August 2012 - 05:38 AM

They may ask a lot of technical questions which you better have th answer too. Other than that, I find that if your personable and not condensending you can land a job with little experience.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• member icon

• View blog

Posted 22 August 2012 - 07:18 AM

View PostDarenR, on 22 August 2012 - 12:38 PM, said:

They may ask a lot of technical questions which you better have th answer too.