2 Replies - 2246 Views - Last Post: 22 August 2012 - 04:25 PM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Learning new ASP.NET codebase

Posted 22 August 2012 - 03:54 PM

this isn't a coding question persay...but it is related to ASP.NET Webforms.

Does anyone have any tips for learning new codebases? I'm primarily involved in the HTML/CSS/JS side. However, I still have 'read-and-write' access to the server-side code as well.

my issues are:
-the code base is large (by my standards); where do I start?
-I'm worried that it will take too long for me to get comfortable, affecting my TL's opinion.
-I'm very comfortable reading C# code, HTML/CSS, and to a lesser degree, JS/jQuery. for instance, I am aware of '.prototype'; but I have zero experience using it.

I was thinking that I should work on a single page at a time, going through all of the custom JS scripts and trying to 'learn by osmosis' that way.

in summary, I am comfortable with the syntax and programming concepts; I am not comfortable with figuring out how the huge amount of code works together.

also, the comments are in a language I can't read.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Learning new ASP.NET codebase

• Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Learning new ASP.NET codebase

Posted 22 August 2012 - 04:09 PM

First of all you should look for documentation. If the codebase is any good it would have some that will give you an idea of what is important and at the "core" of the code base.

Second, look for groupings of files/code around a "theme" and once you identify what the theme is, you can typically start looking at the code at the heart of the code base and work your way to the more obscure "fringe" functionality.