7 Replies - 2669 Views - Last Post: 18 December 2012 - 05:31 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Card Game Problem

Posted 23 August 2012 - 01:29 PM

Hey guys, this is my first time posting here...

I would you like some ideas for the following situation. In a card game like pokémon, for example, suppose there is a class called OptionCard derived from another class Card. OptionCard is responsible for adding specific effects to the gaming scene. Instances of OptionCard obviously represent different cards with different effects, ie instructions that specify such an effect. Well, the question is: how can I do to create different instances of OptionCard where each of them have different effects? It's like a single member function of a class execute different effects according to their instances. Any idea?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Card Game Problem

#2 jimblumberg  Icon User is online

• member icon

• View blog

Re: Card Game Problem

Posted 23 August 2012 - 01:47 PM

Well, the question is: how can I do to create different instances of OptionCard where each of them have different effects? It's like a single member function of a class execute different effects according to their instances. Any idea?

If you have a good understanding of class inheritance and pointers you may want to look into Polymorphism.

Jim
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 23 August 2012 - 01:51 PM

Yes buddy, I can create derived classes of OptionCard and reimplement a virtual function effect() in each of them. But I think this is not a good idea. I don't wanna have a class for each single card, you know...
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 23 August 2012 - 02:05 PM