6 Replies - 1098 Views - Last Post: 27 August 2012 - 01:58 PM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

I need advice about laptop and future

Posted 26 August 2012 - 11:37 AM

Few questions for you guys. I hope this is appropriate to post it here.

I'm a CS field student. I should do a lot of programming work. What laptop should I get? What are the specs I should be looking at? I'm thinking of installing Linux over Windows. Using Eclipse as my IDE. Windows are only for Word and Powerpoint. I don't play games. I'd like to do some 2D physics programming. I don't know about budget because here doesn't use dollar. No macs, poorfag here.

Oh the other question is, about job market for CS. I'm majoring in Netcentric Computing though. It's like networking + programming course. Kinda new here. So yeah. I'm really confused right now. I love programming but less liking in networking field. I cannot predict how my future will be like.

Which is more likely for me to get a job, being a programmer in some company or be a network engineer or some stuff like that? Should I continue to program or just focus on networking?

Plus, I really like to combine science in astronomy and space sciences with programming. How should I go about that?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: I need advice about laptop and future

#2 tlhIn`toq  Icon User is online

• Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: I need advice about laptop and future

Posted 26 August 2012 - 11:45 AM

Its more expensive, and this recommendation may not be popular but...
I'd go with the biggest fraking Mac laptop you can afford and here's why:

It can run both MacOS, Windows and Linux. Therefore you can build objective-c under Xcode for Macintosh and iOS (iPhone/iPad) as well as all those >NET languages for Windows.