9 Replies - 2820 Views - Last Post: 07 September 2012 - 07:42 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

A question for experienced XNA programmers.

Posted 27 August 2012 - 06:55 AM

I realize this is less pointed toward the actual coding of XNA, but I feel it may be helpful. Where did you learn to use XNA? Were you self taught, or was it a class? Were you in college (Or after highschool anyway.), or maybe in highschool? Or had you graduated? So far I've been completely self taught. I'm hoping to make a decent game or two to try and put on Steam or the XBLA for a dollar, to raise a bit of money for learning to make more advanced games in XNA. I've got game design down pretty well, but my development abilities are close to none. And something tells me I should change that if I ever want to be known in the game industry. So what did you do to learn XNA? And what advice would you give to those trying to learn?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: A question for experienced XNA programmers.

• XNArchitect
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: A question for experienced XNA programmers.

Posted 27 August 2012 - 07:28 AM

Fair warning: Wall of text incoming, skip to bottom for tl;dr, on second thought, if you decide to skip to the bottom, then you're not ready to take any advice on learning this stuff anyway.

I am completely self taught when it comes to XNA, and most programming in general. There are some disadvantages to being self taught, but there are some benefits as well. One of the benefits is, that you can immediately start working on things that interest you, and you'll be more likely to continue learning more advanced things because you're enjoying what you're doing. A disadvantage is that you will inevitably skip over some of the more "boring" aspects, such as the theory side of development and end up making things difficult on your self later due to a lack of foundational understanding of programming design and principles.