7 Replies - 917 Views - Last Post: 30 August 2012 - 10:39 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Unable to edit files with Yii framework

Posted 30 August 2012 - 12:02 AM

Hello there.

I recently landed a job that requires me to get comfortable with the Yii framework. I have no experience at all with anything other than hand-written code, which makes this quite a leap for me. I'm trying to follow the official toturials here: http://www.yiiframew...om/screencasts/ but I'm hitting a few snags on my way.

The most recent problem I am having is during step 2 of the screencasts. When I try to save changes made to the index.php file in the View folder, I am getting an "access denied" error message from Dreamweaver. I can edit files in the Controller no problem, but the View files seem to be off limits. I tried in Notepad++ as well to make sure it wasn't some weird DW control problem, but that gave me the same problem.

Is there any config switch I have to turn on somewhere?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Unable to edit files with Yii framework

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Re: Unable to edit files with Yii framework

Posted 30 August 2012 - 01:52 AM

I would assume this is a permissions issue, you would need to grant write permissions for the file/folder in question - take a look a chmod
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• .. does not guess solutions
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 30 August 2012 - 02:09 AM

Yes this is nothing to do with Yii and just your operating system.

Since it's Dreamweaver and you're on Windows, you can go to the root of your project directory, right click it, hit Properties, then Security tab, then click 'Edit...' and ensure that your account has the Full Control permission Allowed. The changes should be applied recursively through the tree, making everything writeable.