9 Replies - 349 Views - Last Post: 04 September 2012 - 09:53 AM

#1 cgren72  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 3
  • View blog
  • Posts: 35
  • Joined: 29-August 12

Do processers break in?

Posted 04 September 2012 - 09:03 AM

I have purchased two new computers, and I noticed cpu performance increase majorly after hours of use. I write music on FL Studio, and noticed that FL would barely run with my i3 laptop at first, and didn't work well even with my i7 based desktop. After both computers had been used for a while, performance increased hugely. At first with my i7, Harmor, a cpu hungry synth, would only give me 3 or so notes of polyphony. Now that the computer has been used for a while, I get as many notes as I want (probably a maximum of 15 or 20 notes). This isnt a complaint, but I was wondering if anyone knew why a cpu needs breaking in.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Do processers break in?

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9204
  • View blog
  • Posts: 34,582
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Do processers break in?

Posted 04 September 2012 - 09:13 AM

Typically no.. breaking in is usually reserved for mechanical things. At best your thermal paste might have spread out and you have picked up a few updates specific to the cpu.. but it isn't like breaking in a car engine.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 jon.kiparsky  Icon User is offline

  • Pancakes!
  • member icon


Reputation: 7747
  • View blog
  • Posts: 13,105
  • Joined: 19-March 11

Re: Do processers break in?

Posted 04 September 2012 - 09:17 AM

Are you sure, modi? I always thought the electrons took a few hours to get properly aligned, and the magnetic fields to come up to full strength.

Next thing you're going to be telling me that the electricity doesn't get tired, when clearly that's why you have to restart a machine now and then.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#4 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9204
  • View blog
  • Posts: 34,582
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Do processers break in?

Posted 04 September 2012 - 09:22 AM

Heh.. some days I think I should start a topic on the "hedge magic" of IT. Misconceptions and rituals we have encountered by those who do not wear the robes of the techno priesthood. A buddy rattled off about four or five his girlfriend's friends told him about how to not have a USB drive corrupt a file. Darn near everything but blood sacrifices (though eerily similar to the rituals of 3.5" or 5" floppies).

... but it happens to everyone at sometime when dealing with a sufficiently complex and mysterious area.
Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

#5 jon.kiparsky  Icon User is offline

  • Pancakes!
  • member icon


Reputation: 7747
  • View blog
  • Posts: 13,105
  • Joined: 19-March 11

Re: Do processers break in?

Posted 04 September 2012 - 09:27 AM

This is the only sense in which everyone believes we have a "sufficiently advanced technology".
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9204
  • View blog
  • Posts: 34,582
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Do processers break in?

Posted 04 September 2012 - 09:31 AM

Shhh... don't tell them it's all smoke and mirrors else they may rise up and stop giving us rare meats, exotic delicacies, and the finest of their women. I mean if it happened to the Ephors then it can happen to us!

(Okay.. okay.. I'll stop this tangent - ;) )
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 no2pencil  Icon User is offline

  • Toubabo Koomi
  • member icon

Reputation: 5313
  • View blog
  • Posts: 27,216
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: Do processers break in?

Posted 04 September 2012 - 09:41 AM

Everyone quit yer yammering, & help me to get this magic smoke back into my PSU!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#8 jon.kiparsky  Icon User is offline

  • Pancakes!
  • member icon


Reputation: 7747
  • View blog
  • Posts: 13,105
  • Joined: 19-March 11

Re: Do processers break in?

Posted 04 September 2012 - 09:44 AM

View Postmodi123_1, on 04 September 2012 - 11:31 AM, said:

Shhh... don't tell them it's all smoke and mirrors else they may rise up and stop giving us rare meats, exotic delicacies, and the finest of their women.


Wait, what? I got a Rubik's cube and a set of buckyballs and all the coffee I can drink.


@OP - sorry about hijacking your question.


No, processors don't break in, but it's quite possible that the software is configuring itself for a while after you first turn the machine on. I know my work machine is immobilized for about one morning per month due to updates, and I don't think I'd be able to run any music composition software while that's going on, presumably something similar goes on when you start up a new machine for the first time.

View Postno2pencil, on 04 September 2012 - 11:41 AM, said:

Everyone quit yer yammering, & help me to get this magic smoke back into my PSU!


I know all about you and your "magic smoke".
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 no2pencil  Icon User is offline

  • Toubabo Koomi
  • member icon

Reputation: 5313
  • View blog
  • Posts: 27,216
  • Joined: 10-May 07

Re: Do processers break in?

Posted 04 September 2012 - 09:46 AM

View Postjon.kiparsky, on 04 September 2012 - 12:44 PM, said:

I know all about you and your "magic smoke".

DOPE!?!

Posted Image
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#10 cgren72  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 3
  • View blog
  • Posts: 35
  • Joined: 29-August 12

Re: Do processers break in?

Posted 04 September 2012 - 09:53 AM

Thanks for the responses.
Both theories make sense-updating and electrons. I wasn't actually connected to the internet in either case, but it could have been installing updates I suppose.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1