• (3 Pages)
  • +

35 Replies - 3187 Views - Last Post: 11 September 2012 - 10:03 PM

• Pragmatism over Dogma
  • member icon

• View blog

Interviewing while in a job etiquette

Posted 06 September 2012 - 04:58 PM

This is a subject that I really don't know how to approach. What is the proper way to interview for other jobs while you are currently employed?

I currently work as a Net Technician in my home town, but I recently got a phone interview with a Development company. They contacted me, and for the record I do enjoy my current job.

What's the best way to go about this? Do I tell my boss? I'm just not sure how to go about this one considering my current job is my first place of employment that isn't freelance based.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Interviewing while in a job etiquette

• Monomania
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Interviewing while in a job etiquette

Posted 06 September 2012 - 06:02 PM

Do not tell your boss, unless you're friends, but still, do not tell him/her. I suggest looking at what the other job has to offer (salary,benefit,environment, opportunity for learning, career growth) then when all the cards are set decide if you want to pursue it. You can always say no. But never let your current employer know that you're looking at another job.

On the other hand, if you see yourself as a valuable contributor to your company, go ahead and say it to your boss. Most likely, they will do something to make you stay with them, but I suggest you do this after you know what the other job has to offer and when they are offering you the job.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 xclite  Icon User is online

• LIKE A BOSS
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 06 September 2012 - 07:18 PM

Just to echo the above, I don't tell them until I'm seriously considering an offer. No reason to get anybody wondering how long you'll be around until there's a significant chance you won't be around.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -