6 Replies - 6139 Views - Last Post: 26 February 2009 - 01:21 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Two videos in one swf - how?

Posted 07 June 2007 - 05:06 PM

Here it is.

I have two videos: bending.flv and lifting.flv (I also have them in swf format).
I want the user to click play and for the videos to play one after the other, basically combining the videos
into one. However, I need to add a screen that says the second video is coming up after the first one finishes
playing. How do I do this? I am new to flash, have CS3 and could really use some help.

Thank you.
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Two videos in one swf - how?

• D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Two videos in one swf - how?

Posted 08 June 2007 - 02:54 PM

Are you wanting to use ActionScript 3 (which requires Flash Player 9), or ActionScript 2?

For AS2, you can place the videos on separate frames, and then listen for the video's completion, to trigger the next video. .. Assuming you're using an FLVPlayback component named "theVideo", here's some code for your first video frame:

stop(); // stop the timeline, so we can watch the video.
theVideo.contentPath = "bending.flv"; // tell the FLVPlayback component what video to load

var myListener:Object = new Object(); // create an event listener
myListener.complete = function(evt:Object) { // create a function to handle the "complete" status
	play();
}
theVideo.addEventListener("complete", myListener); // assign the listener to the FLVPlayback component
theVideo.play(); // play the video

When the video ends, the "complete" status will be broadcast. The event listener will then 'hear' that status, and run the function defined to react to it. In this case, it simply tells the timeline to play, which would lead to the next frame. On that next frame, you could use the exact same code, but replace "bending.flv" with "lifting.flv".