6 Replies - 423 Views - Last Post: 14 September 2012 - 11:42 AM

#1 rumbitas  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 98
  • Joined: 07-December 10

[QUESTION] How can I split a screen in parts?

Posted 07 September 2012 - 05:00 AM

Hi, How I can split the screen of a monitor in several equal parts? Considering the size of the user's monitor.

Like this

16:9                4:3             ...
█▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀█ █▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀█ 
█┌───┬───┬───┬───┐█ █┌───┬───┬───┐█
█│   │   │   │   │█ █│   │   │   │█
█├───┼───┼───┼───┤█ █├───┼───┼───┤█
█│   │   │   │   │█ █│   │   │   │█
█└───┴───┴───┴───┘█ █└───┴───┴───┘█
█▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█ █▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█




I don't know if I have to do it with html (5?), or css. This parts must be independents.

Thanks for your advices

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: [QUESTION] How can I split a screen in parts?

#2 baavgai  Icon User is offline

  • Dreaming Coder
  • member icon

Reputation: 5780
  • View blog
  • Posts: 12,594
  • Joined: 16-October 07

Re: [QUESTION] How can I split a screen in parts?

Posted 07 September 2012 - 06:28 AM

Groovy ASCII art...

In web development, you don't get a screen. You certainly don't get a monitor. What you have is what the browser is willing to give you.

Using something like Javascript you can determine the dimensions of your environment. Using that, you can then create display elements in HTML to do what you want.

Parts independent of what? It's one display. What are your tools? What are you trying to do?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 Lemur  Icon User is offline

  • Pragmatism over Dogma
  • member icon


Reputation: 1359
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,424
  • Joined: 28-November 09

Re: [QUESTION] How can I split a screen in parts?

Posted 07 September 2012 - 07:20 AM

Using Percentage values, em, or relative units in floats.

http://baweaver.tumb...and-positioning

Try this tutorial, it explains floats and positioning that should get you started.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#4 rumbitas  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 98
  • Joined: 07-December 10

Re: [QUESTION] How can I split a screen in parts?

Posted 07 September 2012 - 08:30 AM

By independent, I mean that if I put a link on one part, that just change this part.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 Lemur  Icon User is offline

  • Pragmatism over Dogma
  • member icon


Reputation: 1359
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,424
  • Joined: 28-November 09

Re: [QUESTION] How can I split a screen in parts?

Posted 07 September 2012 - 10:27 AM

Then that would involve an amount of logical thinking of naming conventions and hierarchy of the page once you have it split. Either way, you're still not being very clear.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 rumbitas  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 0
  • View blog
  • Posts: 98
  • Joined: 07-December 10

Re: [QUESTION] How can I split a screen in parts?

Posted 09 September 2012 - 01:44 PM

Sorry for that, I carry on trying it.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 Welly  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Head

Reputation: 2
  • View blog
  • Posts: 84
  • Joined: 07-December 08

Re: [QUESTION] How can I split a screen in parts?

Posted 14 September 2012 - 11:42 AM

Like frames?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1