8 Replies - 787 Views - Last Post: 10 September 2012 - 03:19 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Making the "Basement"

Posted 07 September 2012 - 07:22 PM

Hi, I'm new to python, but not to coding in general. I was readi g Ready Player One by Ernest Cline, and I started thinking about Aech's basement. For those of you who haven't read the book, Aech's basement was a chat room, designed to look like a medium size rec room in someone's basement, replete with old videogames, arcade cabinets, a stereo, and several old comics, magazines, and books among other things. I decided I wanted to make a basement for my own personal use. First was how I would Make it. Python seemd like a good choice, as it was simple enough, and could model graphics easily enough. I have a few basic concepts and sketches for the basement layout, and some things I want to put into it. For game systems, books, and other things, I have decided to use programs and emulators for this. Now, I have two questions on how to make this come into being:
-How should I actually code the basement, as this is hopefully going to be first person.

-How can I open the emulators through my python program? I have no idea how to do this.

Please offer tips, pointers, what have you on how to pull this off. Thanks.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Making the "Basement"

• Pythoneer
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Making the "Basement"

Posted 07 September 2012 - 08:15 PM

So, you want to create a small virtual world that will be navigated in the first person that will act as a music player and used to open emulators? It sounds a lot like Microsoft Bob to me lol

As for actually designing it? Well, you'll want to look into the OS and sys modules for running external programs. I presume you want it to be 3D since it's a first person application... well it sounds a whole lot like a game (from a development standpoint) so I'd suggest looking at some game libraries.

EDIT: