7 Replies - 2806 Views - Last Post: 24 October 2012 - 09:35 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

problem: how should i develop this game idea

Posted 07 September 2012 - 11:13 PM

ok so i have an idea for a game.

basically, an user can draw his/her own character and then this character can be manipulated in a fighting game.
I'm a beginner in programming. so im not quite sure on how i should make this happen?
do I use java? how can i make a program/platform for the users to draw on, and most important of all, how can I take this drawing and manipulate it.

your help is greatly appreciated!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: problem: how should i develop this game idea

• Please show what you have already tried when asking a question.
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: problem: how should i develop this game idea

Posted 08 September 2012 - 09:40 AM

Learn to crawl... then walk... then run... then compete.

Don't try to create this game: You're not ready.

You need to learn a programming language, learn the underlying concepts of coding, OOP and so on.

*THEN* you can start architecting small projects and work your way up to games - which are always considered amongst the hardest projects types out there. To complicate it you want to incorporate a real-time drawing surface like Adobe Illustrator but with a simplier interface for the game player. This is not a simple or beginner task.

My standard beginner resources post

First learn the language by working 2-5 "Learn C# in 30 days" type books cover to cover. Do a couple hundred on-line tutorial projects where you build what you're told to build, the way you are told to build it WITH AN EXPLANATION OF WHY so you can learn.

Then later you can start architecting your own simple stuff. Build a calculator. Build a DVD library program. Etc. Stuff that doesn't involve the complexity of a game. Then move up to games.

There are three routes people seem to take when learning programming.