7 Replies - 3975 Views - Last Post: 28 September 2012 - 03:06 AM

• Hash != Encryption
  • member icon

• View blog

How to make a good logo?

Posted 09 September 2012 - 02:14 AM

I'm starting up an LLC with a rather largish name. I can't give the exact name of the LLC because I in no way ever want to associate my online alias with it ever, lest anyone discover the owner of it isn't an adult and has a rather... unprofessional history in forums. Lets just say it's "(5 characters) (9 characters) LLC".

Now I feel like I need to design a logo just so I have something to put in the header/on my products other than just plain old text. Do you guys have any suggestions/things to read that may help me? I've never done anything like this before and most of my sketches are limited to basic boxes/doodles.

EDIT: Also, is it important that a logo contain the whole name of my LLC? Can I get away with creating two logos, one large and one small, if they both contain similar fonts/colors/shapes? One would have the first 5-character word while the other would contain the whole name.

Thanks for your time.

This post has been edited by creativecoding: 09 September 2012 - 02:16 AM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How to make a good logo?

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: How to make a good logo?

Posted 09 September 2012 - 08:15 AM

I thought this might be relevant for you. Simple is always a good thing.
Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

• Dreaming Coder
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 09 September 2012 - 08:58 AM

A logo should be simple. While color can be a factor, it should be equally recognizable in black and white.

A logo is NOT the name of the company in some fancy font. It can be. Think about Ford. Now, think about every other major auto manufacturer. Letters are common, like Honda, Volkswagen, Rolls Royce. However, some of the best logos have no text at all, like Mercedes Benz.