3 Replies - 2907 Views - Last Post: 16 September 2012 - 05:44 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

XNA Beginner questions/confirmation of knowledge thusfar.

Posted 15 September 2012 - 11:10 AM

Hey!

I am a beginner programmer who knows basics of java and C# and now am working with a fun and educational project with few friends on XNA. My goal here is to gain more understanding and start implementing OOP with comfort and as a natural part of OOP programming. Therefore I'm in a spot where I want to create Sprite classes to use in my main code to call those sprites into my application. I have had several problems so I would love to gain a certain ground to be certain that if things that I at the moment know are correct or not. So I would be very glad if you could confirm or disprove my understanding thusfar. Also I would like to mention that I have read quite alot of the tutorials but getting bits and pieces from everything so heres my understanding of what I have gathered without knowing if what I have gathered is correct.

So to begin.
When I make my XNA game project I have

public Game1()
        {
            graphics = new GraphicsDeviceManager(this);
            Content.RootDirectory = "Content";
        }

I guess the GraphicsDeviceManager implements my graphic settings from my computer. Does the "This" in method arguments can be changed to anything and if then for what reason?

Moving on we have the Initialize method

protected override void Initialize()
        {
            // TODO: Add your initialization logic here

base.Initialize();
        }

I'm quite lost here. I know i can create my new objects there but im kind of clueless about the logic behind it. Short and logical explenation would be of great use here.

Next we have the LoadContent method.

Basically in LoadContent method I can load items from my content that I have added previously to GameContent in my case and then assign those items to certain objects?