6 Replies - 1472 Views - Last Post: 22 September 2012 - 08:09 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

to the successful programmers, would you mind sharing the path u took?

Posted 16 September 2012 - 02:46 PM

Hello world, I am an aspiring c++ Programmer and am trying to turn it into a career. Right now I own and run a franchise, but its not something that I want to do for the rest of my life, I dream in code. I am 25, so going back to school isn't really an option. And from owning and running my own business, I really would like to own and run my own programming company. I am not too fond of working for someone else after knowing the freedom and responsibilities of running your own. Right now I am reading programming books consistently as much as I can.

So I am wondering if all I have to have a good grasp of the language and then you should be able to make a living off of it, or is the only way going back to school?

Thanks for any replies, sorry if this is in the wrong area, wasn't sure where this should have been placed.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 1
  • +

Replies To: to the successful programmers, would you mind sharing the path u took?

#2 modi123_1  Icon User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: to the successful programmers, would you mind sharing the path u took?

Posted 16 September 2012 - 03:01 PM

Some topics to check out:

HTTP://Www.dreaminco...raduate-school/
http://www.dreaminco...its-printed-on/
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 16 September 2012 - 04:50 PM

I had worked in IT for 20 years as a Systems Administrator. I had always wanted to program but never was in the right place at the right time. After many years of not programming I bought three books which changed my life.

Murach's VISUAL BASIC
Murach's ADO.NET for VB
Murach's ASP.net for VB