"Press any key to continue..." prompt

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2

21 Replies - 3443 Views - Last Post: 01 October 2012 - 08:44 AM

#1 Skydiver  Icon User is offline

  • Code herder
  • member icon

Reputation: 3576
  • View blog
  • Posts: 11,117
  • Joined: 05-May 12

"Press any key to continue..." prompt

Posted 22 September 2012 - 01:37 PM

Minor rant:

I hate it when the prompt says "Press any key to continue...", and I press the Shift key and the program doesn't respond. If the program says "any" key, they should mean it. The next program that prompts me as such, I'll be pressing Ctrl-SysRq or Ctrl-C and see what kind of chaos that brings about.

Okay, I feel better now.

(If your response is the computer doesn't read the Shift keys unless in combination with another keyboard button, note that a lot of video games let you do actions on just the Shift or Ctrl key being pressed. The actually look at the scancodes.)

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: "Press any key to continue..." prompt

#2 aresh  Icon User is offline

  • It's a 16-Bit World!
  • member icon

Reputation: 273
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,171
  • Joined: 08-January 12

Re: "Press any key to continue..." prompt

Posted 22 September 2012 - 01:53 PM

Well... Ummm... Cool. I was thinking about the same thing this morning :)

Minor rant:
Why don't you change your title?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 BenignDesign  Icon User is offline

  • holy shitin shishkebobs
  • member icon




Reputation: 6095
  • View blog
  • Posts: 10,531
  • Joined: 28-September 07

Re: "Press any key to continue..." prompt

Posted 22 September 2012 - 02:05 PM

*
POPULAR

Why does he need to change his title to suit you? Do you find his member title offensive? I applaud his refusal to bend to your sad attempt at peer pressure. If he loves DIC, let him share the love.
Was This Post Helpful? 12
  • +
  • -

#4 jon.kiparsky  Icon User is online

  • Pancakes!
  • member icon


Reputation: 7747
  • View blog
  • Posts: 13,106
  • Joined: 19-March 11

Re: "Press any key to continue..." prompt

Posted 22 September 2012 - 02:07 PM

Let me guess: a raging case of the can't-be-bothereds?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 Skaggles  Icon User is offline

  • THE PEN IS MIGHTIER
  • member icon





Reputation: 251
  • View blog
  • Posts: 640
  • Joined: 01-March 09

Re: "Press any key to continue..." prompt

Posted 22 September 2012 - 04:01 PM

*
POPULAR

I applaud you, good sir. I've never been able to find the 'any' key.
Was This Post Helpful? 5
  • +
  • -

#6 supersloth  Icon User is offline

  • serial frotteur - RUDEST MEMBER ON D.I.C.
  • member icon


Reputation: 4503
  • View blog
  • Posts: 28,411
  • Joined: 21-March 01

Re: "Press any key to continue..." prompt

Posted 22 September 2012 - 04:04 PM

*
POPULAR



/thread
Was This Post Helpful? 15
  • +
  • -

#7 Mikhail  Icon User is offline

  • Bastard Operator From Hell
  • member icon

Reputation: 58
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,378
  • Joined: 26-October 07

Re: "Press any key to continue..." prompt

Posted 22 September 2012 - 07:08 PM

I used to love it when it prompted "Press RETURN to Continue".
Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

#8 modi123_1  Icon User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 9206
  • View blog
  • Posts: 34,588
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: "Press any key to continue..." prompt

Posted 22 September 2012 - 08:46 PM

I always took keys like shift, control, alt, etc as 'modifiers' and not in the general subset of a key. Then again it never really bothered me too much.
Was This Post Helpful? 3
  • +
  • -

#9 KYA  Icon User is offline

  • g++ jameson.cpp -o beverage
  • member icon

Reputation: 3101
  • View blog
  • Posts: 19,141
  • Joined: 14-September 07

Re: "Press any key to continue..." prompt

Posted 22 September 2012 - 09:29 PM

Real men use CR LF
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#10 jon.kiparsky  Icon User is online

  • Pancakes!
  • member icon


Reputation: 7747
  • View blog
  • Posts: 13,106
  • Joined: 19-March 11

Re: "Press any key to continue..." prompt

Posted 22 September 2012 - 10:22 PM

View PostKYA, on 22 September 2012 - 11:29 PM, said:

Real men use CR LF



... to poop on!
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#11 BenignDesign  Icon User is offline

  • holy shitin shishkebobs
  • member icon




Reputation: 6095
  • View blog
  • Posts: 10,531
  • Joined: 28-September 07

Re: "Press any key to continue..." prompt

Posted 22 September 2012 - 11:17 PM

Part of me wishes I understood that. The rest of me says it's probably better that I don't.
Was This Post Helpful? 3
  • +
  • -

#12 The_Programmer-  Icon User is offline

  • Death Scythe
  • member icon

Reputation: 24
  • View blog
  • Posts: 593
  • Joined: 24-October 11

Re: "Press any key to continue..." prompt

Posted 23 September 2012 - 05:14 PM

I do not get why they don't prompt the user with something like :Press any alphanumeric key to continue."
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#13 BenignDesign  Icon User is offline

  • holy shitin shishkebobs
  • member icon




Reputation: 6095
  • View blog
  • Posts: 10,531
  • Joined: 28-September 07

Re: "Press any key to continue..." prompt

Posted 23 September 2012 - 05:25 PM

*
POPULAR

Now you're making the assumption that the general public knows what "alphanumeric" means.

I think I'd do "Press a key to continue." And only proceed when they actually press the 'a' key.
Was This Post Helpful? 9
  • +
  • -

#14 strawhat89  Icon User is offline

  • The Watcher Outside Your Window


Reputation: 247
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,795
  • Joined: 11-July 11

Re: "Press any key to continue..." prompt

Posted 23 September 2012 - 10:03 PM

I almost always press the Enter key when asked to 'press any key to continue'. Never had any problems.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#15 cfoley  Icon User is offline

  • Cabbage
  • member icon

Reputation: 1998
  • View blog
  • Posts: 4,150
  • Joined: 11-December 07

Re: "Press any key to continue..." prompt

Posted 24 September 2012 - 05:52 AM

I once ran a program (Horizon for the Spectrum) that asked me to press a key. I pressed space or something and the next screen said "WRONG! You should have pressed the 'a' key."
Was This Post Helpful? 4
  • +
  • -

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2