"Press any key to continue..." prompt

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2

21 Replies - 2908 Views - Last Post: 01 October 2012 - 08:44 AM

#16 NeoTifa  Icon User is offline

  • Whorediot
  • member icon





Reputation: 2497
  • View blog
  • Posts: 15,462
  • Joined: 24-September 08

Re: "Press any key to continue..." prompt

Posted 24 September 2012 - 04:32 PM

*
POPULAR

I just smack the keyboard randomly and don't give a shit.
Was This Post Helpful? 6
  • +
  • -

#17 cfoley  Icon User is offline

  • Cabbage
  • member icon

Reputation: 1907
  • View blog
  • Posts: 3,953
  • Joined: 11-December 07

Re: "Press any key to continue..." prompt

Posted 25 September 2012 - 12:58 AM

I'm picturing your computer setup complete with a bum-shaped keyboard.
Was This Post Helpful? 4
  • +
  • -

#18 cgren72  Icon User is offline

  • New D.I.C Head

Reputation: 3
  • View blog
  • Posts: 35
  • Joined: 29-August 12

Re: "Press any key to continue..." prompt

Posted 25 September 2012 - 08:06 AM

View PostMikhail, on 22 September 2012 - 07:08 PM, said:

I used to love it when it prompted "Press RETURN to Continue".


The good ol' days
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#19 calvinthedestroyer  Icon User is offline

  • D.I.C Lover

Reputation: 166
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,904
  • Joined: 13-October 07

Re: "Press any key to continue..." prompt

Posted 25 September 2012 - 07:52 PM

View PostSkydiver, on 22 September 2012 - 02:37 PM, said:

(If your response is the computer doesn't read the Shift keys unless in combination with another keyboard button, note that a lot of video games let you do actions on just the Shift or Ctrl key being pressed. The actually look at the scancodes.)


Uh, the Lshift, Rshift, ctrl, numlock, capslock, and scroll lock are not read in by the scan codes, they are a register that you read at a specific hardware address, (40h:17h in memory)

On my laptop the power button is right next to the keyboard, so does that count as Anykey? :)
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#20 Skydiver  Icon User is online

  • Code herder
  • member icon

Reputation: 3172
  • View blog
  • Posts: 9,611
  • Joined: 05-May 12

Re: "Press any key to continue..." prompt

Posted 30 September 2012 - 07:03 PM

Yes, there is a shift key state, but there is also a shift key scan code: http://www.win.tue.n...cancodes-1.html
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#21 raghav.naganathan  Icon User is offline

  • Perfectly Squared ;)
  • member icon

Reputation: 408
  • View blog
  • Posts: 1,440
  • Joined: 14-September 12

Re: "Press any key to continue..." prompt

Posted 30 September 2012 - 08:24 PM

Well, whenever I encountered such a situation, I pressed the 'backspace' key as I thought backspace meant going back...lol :D...and yes...It went back :D
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#22 Bort  Icon User is offline

  • Ill-informed Mongoloid
  • member icon

Reputation: 357
  • View blog
  • Posts: 2,768
  • Joined: 18-September 06

Re: "Press any key to continue..." prompt

Posted 01 October 2012 - 08:44 AM

View Postcalvinthedestroyer, on 26 September 2012 - 03:52 AM, said:

On my laptop the power button is right next to the keyboard, so does that count as Anykey? :)


Try it and find out? but you should only do this if you are in the middle of something vitally important.

Space bar is usually my key of choice, mainly because it is the biggest key out there, right in the middle of the keyboard, and can easily be hit by randomly flailing at the keyboard.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2