• Last »

535 Replies - 24070 Views - Last Post: 14 March 2013 - 08:51 AM

• D.I.C Lover

• View blog

Re: Fall/Winter 2012 Fitness

Posted 25 September 2012 - 08:47 AM

View PostDarenR, on 25 September 2012 - 08:29 AM, said:

View PostAnalyticLunatic, on 25 September 2012 - 11:23 AM, said:

By the time I finish my Bachelors Degree I am estimating around 25K for my student loans. Over a 10yr regular plan that's about $210 a month, or if I wanna press my finances over 5yrs, about $420 a month.

Once I have my Bachelors, almost anywhere in the private sector pays a minimum double of my current salary to their Developers, so I plan to simply tighten the belt for a year or 2 and get my loans all payed off.

how did you get your schooling so cheap

Short story, I was:

Posted Image

Long story, my state has a tuition program called "A+". Basically Any student who maintains a 3.0 GPA or higher and performs (60?) hrs of tutoring throughout at least 3 years of high school qualifies.

The program covers tuition at any 2yr upper-level institution including vocational, technical, and community colleges for 4 semesters (2 years). The program actually started out covering 6 semesters, which enabled some to dual-degree, but the funding is slowly being chipped away at, so it is anyone's guess as to how long the program shall remain.

Thanks to that program, I graduated with top honors from the State Technical College, taking out loans only for living on campus and for books/misc. fees. I walked away with my Associates owing just a hair over 10K. Now that I am pursuing my Bachelors, a good many of my classes are transferring over, and even those that aren't coming over as full class credit, are at least giving me credits towards electives. I've been told by the counselor I shall have to take little to no electives to receive my Bachelors degree, leaving me free to focus on the core classes and the few general education courses that didn't come over.

Posted Image