7 Replies - 2451 Views - Last Post: 01 October 2012 - 11:59 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Young programmer looking to get into the industry.

Posted 25 September 2012 - 12:31 PM

Hey guys, I'm a young game developer to be and I've got a few questions to ask on the subject.

I'm a sixteen year old programer based near Ottawa Ontario, and I'm looking to get into a local college for Game Design and Programing. The thing is that, these colleges demand a portfolio to even be considered for their courses, so I guess my question to you is, how can I build a portfolio of work? How can I find and get myself on community teams? And once I'm there, how do I go about creating and adding this to a portfolio?

If there's any information for a new guy in the field, I'd love to hear. Things like, what sort of code would you usually see in a indie game, for instance on the XboxLIVE market place, and what kind of tools does it require?

-Jake.

PS: My only prior experience in programing is just basic stuff, I've taken a college level computer programing course at my HighSchool, and I've been messing around with some Java code.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Young programmer looking to get into the industry.

• D.I.C Lover

• View blog

Re: Young programmer looking to get into the industry.

Posted 25 September 2012 - 06:46 PM

Hi and welcome. Have you tried asking the colleges themselves on their requirements? This is quite an important step since different colleges will likely have different requirements. Some even have example work on their site that students have worked on.

Have a good look around, and good luck. :)
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 29 September 2012 - 10:01 AM